Pist announce new album

Riff juggernaut Pist will release new album ‘Hailz’ on 8th November through APF Records (Mastiff, Battalions, BongCauldron, Desert Storm). The Bury, Lancashire based quartet follow their recent Spring UK tour alongside Orange Goblin with 7 tracks that see them taking a step away from the stoner-doom label they have always been tagged with. 

“Myself and John (guitarist) had loads of ideas for riffs and basic structures however when we entered the jam room with these ideas and the four of us put our heads together it started growing and growing. I feel this record reflects more of our personal influences from shit like Darkthrone to Elder, Orange Goblin to Uada. Musically, I feel it’s a step away from the ‘stoner doom’ label we found ourselves with, something we’ve never considered ourselves to be, in our eyes we’re a heavy metal, rock n roll band who listen to a fair bit of Black Metal and Punk. This is really reflecting in the songs on this record from ferocious black metal kicking your head in to chilled psyched out bits that make you feel like you’re floating or something.”

David Rowlands, Pist vocalist.

Mind Rotter is the 1st single to be shared from the album. It is traditionally loud, and does move away from the style of music you’d come to expect from Pist. There are bits of black metal, hulking riffs and passionate vocals in the glorious mix. It is a pounding near five minute onslaught that reeks of a band ready to take the next step up. It rails against the politicians and governments of the world.

Lyrically it’s about dealing with my utter contempt of the modern world.

David Rowlands on Pist’s new single, Mind Rotter.

As with their debut EP and previous album, ‘Hailz’ was recorded with Chris Fielding (Conan, Winterfylleth, Witchsorrow, Mammoth Weed Wizard Bastard), this time over at Foel studio. 

Lyrically the record deals with loss; a very close friend of ours committed suicide as we were writing the record so that has reflected heavily on this record. The name ‘Hailz’ is one of the ways he used to sign off when we’d talk. The lyrics also deal with hatred, personal circumstances, the state of the world around us, horror and disgust.

David Rowlands on the lyrical themes of Hailz.

‘Hailz’ is a record that will grab the attention of fans of Orange Goblin, Kvelertak, Motörhead, Entombed, Uada and Black Breath making Pist one of the standout bands in the current UK underground heavy scene. ‘Hailz’ is Pist finally finding their sound.

Hailz can be pre-ordered here.

You can catch Pist live on the following dates. They are a phenomenal live band!

  • 7th September – Hail Eytan! – All dayer for CALM – The Bread Shed, Manchester
  • 9th November 2019 – Album release show – The Bread Shed, Manchester w/ Bast, Video Nasties
  • 19th March 2020 – Hammerfest – Great Yarmouth
  • 20th March 2020 – The Dev – London
  • 21st March 2020 – The Old Salutation Inn – Nottingham
  • 6th June 2020 – Stonebaked Festival – Temple of Boom – Leeds

Pist: Website / Facebook / Twitter

Categories: Featured

Tagged as: , , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.